ISPS 2023 Student Contest Results

Many thanks to our Judges, ISPS members: Ida Koytuk, Tom Moran, Beth Staas and Barbara Eaton! We received 226 poems from 202 students.

This year, we restructured the contest to resemble the adult contest offering our students more categories to enter. Also new are cash prizes and a published anthology of the winning poems. Our first edition of Fresh Ink: 2023 Anthology of Prize Poems by Illinois Students is now available on Amazon.

Senior Division Winners:

Contest #1 – President's Challenge Award Form: Any Subject: Peace

First Place: Sreehitha Nara, Barrington High School, Barrington – Robert M. Baker, teacher Second Place: Espen Hammes, Newman Central Catholic HS, Sterling – Donna Spencer, teacher

Third Place: Ian Smiddy. Riverdale High School, Port Byron – Lacey Dean, teacher

HM #1: Delany Jokisch, A-C Central High School, Ashland – Liz Sinclair, teacher

HM #2: William Boston, A-C Central High School, Ashland – Liz Sinclair, teacher

HM #3: Carson Arthalony, A-C Central High School, Ashland – Liz Sinclair, teacher

Contest #2 – Lake Michigan Award Form: Any Subject: Water

First Place: Gianna Sagel, Newman Central Catholic HS. Sterling – Donna Spencer, teacher

Second Place: Jayce Privia, A-C Central High School, Ashland – Liz Sinclair, teacher

Third Place: Jack Van Gorkom, Wesclin High School, Trenton – Dr. Jessica Pilgreen, teacher

HM #1: Sarah Allgaier, Oswego East High School, Oswego – Tim Ochoa, teacher

HM #2: Max Keehma, Oswego East High School, Oswego – Tim Ochoa, teacher

HM #3: Sam R Neisewander, Newman Central Catholic HS – Donna Spencer

Contest #3 – Robert Frost Award Form: Rhyming Subject: Any

First Place: Sarah D. Murray, Newman Central Catholic HS, Sterling – Donna Spencer, teacher Second Place: Stella Abarca, Plainfield east High School. Plainfield – Elizabeth Venezio, teacher

Third Place: Monica Healy, Newman Central Catholic HS, Sterling – Donna Spencer

HM#1: Abigail Peters-Eacho, Wesclin High School, Trenton – Dr. Jessica Pilgreen

HM #2: Alaina Marr, A-C Central High School, Ashland – Liz Sinclair, teacher

HM #3: Andrea Brandner, St. Bede's Academy, Peru – Andrea Horst, teacher

Junior Division Winners:

Contest #4 – Vice President's Challenge Award Form: Any Subject: Family

First Place: Vania Chavez, Fred Rogers Magnet Academy, Aurora – Laura Krueger, teacher

Second Place: Marissa Carsten, Pleasantdale Middle School, Burr Ridge - Nancy Deaton, teacher

Third Place: Ella Nielsen, Pleasantdale Middle School, Burr Ridge – Nancy Deaton, teacher

HM #1: Abagail Flinn, The Field School, Chicago – Jack Franicevich, teacher

HM #2: Adyson Choate, Shawnee Junior High School, Wolf Lake – Rachel Griffin, teacher

Contest #5: Mississippi River Award Form: Any Subject: Water

First Place: Josephine Hillegass, Martino Junior High School. New Lenox – Amy Styx

Second Place: Abagail Flinn, Shawnee Junior High School, Wolf Lake - Rachel Griffin

Third Place: Rehan Mathew Koshy, Edison Regional Gifted Center, Chicago – Angela Richardson

HM #1: Brody Maeser, Shawnee Junior High School, Wolf Lake – Rachel Griffin

HM #2: Eliza Ford, Shawnee Junior High School, Wolf Lake – Rachel Griffin

Contest #6: Land of Lincoln Award Form: Any Subject: Abraham Lincoln

First Place: Sereniti Mefford, Shawnee Junior High School, Wolf Lake – Rachel Griffin Second Place: Eliza Ford, Shawnee Junior High School, Wolf Lake – Rachel Griffin Third Place: Madalyn Shuster: Shawnee Junior High School, Wolf Lake – Rachel Griffin